I was reading the article linked below by J.R. Briggs (which led me to the other linked articles) regarding the health of the American pastor. He asks two questions: “With such heart-sinking stats, what is to be done? What do pastors need – and more specifically, what does your pastor need to help change these numbers?” He offers five solutions:

  1. Pray for your pastor(s). When was the last time you prayed for your pastor?
  2. Your pastor needs to be himself. Do you have unrealistic expectations of your pastor?
  3. Your pastor needs rest. Does your pastor honor a Sabbath?
  4. Your pastor needs friends. Does your pastor have people in his life he considers real friends?
  5. Your pastor needs counseling. Did you know pastors are depraved, broken human beings?

This is a helpful list. I know it caused me to stop and pray for my pastors.

Devastating Statistics about Pastors by J.R. Briggs

Don’t Make Your Pastor a Statistic? by Thabiti Anyabwile

Statistics on Pastors by Dr. Richard J. Krejcir (this article provides the most recent data I have come across)

