EDGE_getting_people_to_listen_MAy13 gif.ashx

I talk to myself. I have conversations with myself. Don’t judge me. I bet you do to.
 
I was thinking about this and realized there are some conversations I don’t have with myself any longer. I don’t think about making time to spend with Jamie. Almost every morning for the past 17 years, we have started our day sitting across from each other in conversation. We haven’t scheduled that time. We don’t have to have a conversation about having a conversation with one another. It is ritualistic. It has been formative in our marriage.
 
There are other things that have similarly become automatic. Reading I do everyday is automatic. There are hygienic practices that are just routine. The consumption of certain caffeinated beverages I give no thought to.
 
1. What conversations do you not have to have with yourself? 
 
The conversations you don’t have your with yourself are the most powerful ones. This is good and bad. These are your habits. I heard someone say 90% of life is habitual, what we do without thinking. This can be powerfully good or powerfully bad.
 
There are some conversations I have with myself that at this point I shouldn’t need to have. Everyday I have a conversation with myself about exercising. It’s always a tense conversation. Unfortunately, it is usually one I walk away from. Relationships is another area. I have conversations with myself about staying in touch with relatives, or my lack of staying in touch. I am sure you could think of similar things.
 
2. What conversations do you have with yourself that you shouldn’t?
 
You have those conversations because you don’t have a plan. Perhaps you have a plan, but other things have a higher priority. Priorities plus a plan, equals purpose. I don’t mean to intimate this is a simple act of the will. I know change is more complicated than that. But I am submitting there are conversations that need to be put to rest.
 
I made the statement to Bill Calvin that my goal was to get to a point of putting an end to conversations with myself. He immediately replied with a great insight. Ceasing to have these conversations with myself would mean I would cease to grow. This internal dialogue is the way I challenge, question, and confront myself. As Bill said this it rang true because the day before I was reading 2 Peter 1 where Peter lists action we are to take to support our faith in Jesus’ divine power. The passage says,
 

For this very reason, you must make every effort to support your faith with goodness, and goodness with knowledge, and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with endurance, and endurance with godliness, and godliness with mutual affection, and mutual affection with love. For if these things are yours and are increasing among you, they keep you from being ineffective and unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. (1 Peter 1:5-8) 

Increasing means growing. And each of these things are conversations. Following this passage, Peter states the amazing promise that if you have these conversations with yourself you will never fall (v.10). So you never want to stop  talking to yourself. You don’t want a life of 100% habit.
 
3. What conversations should you have with yourself that you’re not?
 

Have a conversation with yourself right now. Ask yourself these three questions. Go ahead and talk to yourself. I won’t judge you.

Title Signature

