Roots

I didn’t like it

I was standing in our worship service recently singing. I don’t remember the exact song, but it was probably something about how good Jesus is and being thankful for what he has done. As I am singing, someone caught my eye. They were singing the song, too, and I didn’t like it.

How dare they

The thought that ran through my mind was something like, “How dare they sing this song.” I was doubly bitter because this person seemed to be sincerely worshipping. The problem I had was that I was not happy with decisions this person was making with their life. So, I was getting mad that they seemed happy in Jesus.

Missing grace

Hebrews 12:15 says, “See to it that no one misses the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many.” The context is helping others. How can a person miss the grace of God? By receiving it for oneself, but not extending it to others. That was exactly what I was doing.

A seed of bitterness

Only I know the amount of grace God has shown me. Let’s just say it is extensive. My attitude during that worship service was like the unmerciful servant (Matthew 18:23-35). I could feel a seed of bitterness being dropped into the soil of my heart. Fortunately, it was plucked out before it was able to germinate.

Higher standard than Jesus

I was missing the grace of God because I was not willing to pass along what God had graciously given me. Tim Cooper recently said, “If what someone is doing keeps you away from ministering to them, you have a higher standard than Jesus.” I realized I had a higher standard than Jesus did with this person I saw singing. Sure, there is a time for dealing with the poor decisions a person is making, but there is never a time to miss the grace of God.

Title Signature Screenshot Cartoon 2015

