Significance comes from making a difference that lasts.

Significance comes from making a difference that lasts.

I love the Model X Tesla. I know that is a poor use of the word love. Go ahead and judge me—I’ll take it. The Model X is an all-electric car with doors that open above the roof. They are called falcon wings—their take on the Mercedes 300 Gullwing. It’s a car that melts the soul.

It would be satisfying

It would be satisfying to own a Model X Tesla. In theory I could buy one. I would have to sacrifice a couple of my kids’ weddings and college educations. But in theory, it is an attainable goal.

Reaching that goal

How satisfying would reaching that goal be? Teslas have an 8 year unlimited mileage warranty. There are test models which have had over 500,000 miles put on them. Let’s say I maintained it well, kept the rust off, and had good fortune with the computer system. Maybe I could enjoy it for 20 years.

A point in time

There is a satisfaction that comes from the success of reaching a goal. My definition of success is a goal reached at a point in time. Being the owner of a Model X (reaching that goal) would create a measure of satisfaction; maybe for as long as 20 years.

Last over time

By contrast, there is a satisfaction that comes from significance. My definition of significance is making a difference that lasts over time. The longer the impact lasts, the more significant it is.

Limited satisfaction

I have reached many goals up to this point in my life. I am sure you have, too. I have bought houses, started programs, and built businesses. There are many successes I can look to as accomplishments. All were goals I set out to reach that happened in a point in time. But the satisfaction from those accomplishments has been limited.

Lasting significance

I want to give myself to more than successes though. I want to be able to say I have done something that had some staying power. There may be a few items that get passed on to my kids or grandkids that last beyond me. But there is something in me that wants to know what I am giving myself to has eternal significance.

A life of significance

What are those areas where a difference can be made that last over time? What impact can be made that lasts throughout time? What are the eternal investments that can be made? Jesus said, “My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.” (John 10:10 NLT) I think Jesus wants you to experience the satisfaction that comes from successes. However, more than the limited satisfaction of success, he wants you to have the unlimited satisfaction of a life of significance.

An eternal mark

There is nothing more lasting than a soul. A Model X may melt the soul, but it doesn’t make an eternal mark on the soul. This idea is clarifying for me. Is there a more worthwhile place to attempt to make a difference than a soul that will live for eternity? Can anything compare to the significance found in impacting a soul that last beyond time?

Title Signature Screenshot Cartoon 2015

